Dedication You Need, Results You Deserve.
  • $6.5 Million Construction Accident/Premises Liability
  • $18 Million Car
  • $17.55 Million Trucking Accident Brain Injury
  • $7.2 Million Product Liability Vehicle/Brain Injury

California Negligence Laws

Before you were injured in an accident, you probably didn’t know much about California’s negligence laws. After you’ve been injured because of negligence, though, you need to know more about the laws and what those laws mean to you.

For example, there are laws regarding when you can file a claim for compensation and how long you have to file. Misunderstanding one of these rules could jeopardize your financial future.

Below, we’ve outlined a few important elements surrounding California negligence laws.

What’s Comparative Negligence?

The main idea that California’s negligence laws operate under is called comparative negligence.

Comparative negligence takes the parties involved in an accident—usually the person injured and another involved party—and compares the responsibility of each. The injured person can pursue compensation that is equal to the percentage of responsibility the other party holds.

At-Fault vs. No-Fault

When dealing with car accident responsibility in California, someone must be found responsible for an accident before the insurance company will pay for damages. This means the person is considered at fault. California is an at-fault state, which means it operates under this concept.

In a no-fault state, on the other hand, it doesn’t matter who’s responsible for the accident; each person’s own insurance company covers damages.

Personal Injury Deadlines

When filing a personal injury claim, you must be aware of the deadlines ahead of you. If you’ve been injured in an accident, regardless of accident type (e.g., premises liability, auto collision, defective product), you must file your injury claim within two years of the date of your injury. This rule is called the statute of limitations.

Give Us a Call

We hope we’ve answered your questions regarding California negligence laws. now, a personal injury attorney can help you get started on your case so you can receive the compensation you deserve.

Contact a California personal injury lawyer from The Kindley Firm, APC, to discuss your case. We offer a free consultation to those who complete our online contact form or call 619-550-1313.



  • No fees unless we win
  • No obligation to continue beyond the case review
  • Get all your legal questions answered
Nameyour full name
Phone Numberyour full name
Tell us about your casemore details
0 /
FormCraft - WordPress form builder

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!

Schedule A Free Consultation

Start live chat with our team?